Tournament History

Borrowing ideas from the traditional game of golf, Harold Duvall, Jonathan Poole, and Dave Dunipace began planning an event that would quickly shape the future of disc golf’s competitive scene. From those plans grew the United States Disc Golf Championship. Through its unique structure, highly acclaimed course, and distinct qualifying procedure, the “USDGC” established itself as one of disc golf’s most prestigious events.


In an effort to bring the best disc golfers together, the USDGC combines all players who qualify into a single division. Virtually every other disc golf tournament in the world offers divisions based on age, gender and skill level. 

Disc golfers love the relaxed tournament structure, as they can enjoy good food, music, and even watch other competitors play their rounds.


For the first six years, the tournament ran consecutive days, Thursday through Sunday, with competitors playing one round a day. In 2005, the schedule was adjusted so that the final round would be held on Saturday. The primary reason was to offer spectators an opportunity to play Winthrop in exact tournament conditions.


Winthrop University’s Disc Golf Course has been the site of the USDGC since its inception in 1999. Although the course has seen minor changes each year, it always presents a combination of narrow fairways, lots of out-of-bounds area, elevated baskets, and plenty of water. 

Known to be physically, emotionally and mentally challenging, Winthrop allows for creativity in shot-making and a unique focus on shot placement, rather than on pure distance alone.


USDGC hopefuls may qualify for the event based on their performance at the previous year’s event or by participating in one of the many regional qualifying tournaments around the world. The unique structure and execution of the USDGC have set precedence for other disc golf tournaments to follow.


Through the financial assistance and support of Innova Champion Discs and many other generous partners, the USDGC has experienced sustained growth in the number of players and spectators that attend the tournament each year. The USDGC quickly became a favorite tournament for many of disc golf’s top professionals.


We have amassed a library of video from past years for your viewing pleasure. Take a trip down memory lane by visiting our video archive and reliving your favorite moments.
Video Archive >>

United States Disc Golf Champions


Kyle Klein
Total Score: -27; Won by 1 

2023 Leaderboard


Gannon Buhr, Iowa 
Total Score: 223; Won by 1

2022 Leaderboard


Paul McBeth, California 
Total Score: 238; Won by 1 in play-off

2021 Leaderboard


Chris Dickerson, Tennessee 
Total Score: 238; Won by 1

2020 Leaderboard


James Conrad, Virginia
Total Score: 249; Won by 1

2019 Leaderboard


Paul McBeth, California
Total Score: 234; Won by 3

2018 Leaderboard


Nathan Sexton, Oregon
Total Score: 232; Won by 5

2016 Leaderboard


Jeremy Koling, North Carolina
Total Score: *180; Won by 4 – *Final round canceled due to Hurricane Matthew.

2016 Leaderboard


Paul McBeth, California
Total Score: 242; Won by 5

2015 Leaderboard


Will Schusterick, Tennessee
Total Score: 249; Won in playoff

2014 Leaderboard


Steve Brinster, New York
Total Score: 237; Won by 1

2013 Leaderboard


Will Schusterick, Tennessee
Total Score: 224; Won by 2

2012 Leaderboard


Will Schusterick, Tennessee
Total Score: 244; Won by 2

2010 Leaderboard


Nikko Locastro, Missouri
Total Score: 238; Won by 2

2009 Leaderboard

Disc Golfer


Nate Doss, California
Total Score: 236; Won by 4

2008 Leaderboard


Ken Climo, Florida 
Total Score: 233; Won by 11

2007 Leaderboard


Barry Schultz, Wisconsin 
Total Score: 236; Won by 11

2006 Leaderboard


Dave Feldberg, Oregon
Total Score: 244; Won by 2

2005 Leaderboard


Ken Climo, Florida
Total Score: 255; Won by 5

2004 Leaderboard


Barry Schultz, Wisconsin
Total Score: 243; Won in playoff

2003 Leaderboard

Disc Golfers walking towards goal


Ken Climo, Florida
Total Score: 237; Won by 7

2002 Leaderboard


Barry Schultz, Wisconsin
Total Score: 245; Won by 1

2001 Leaderboard


Ken Climo, Florida
Total Score: 226; Won by 5

2000 Leaderboard


Ken Climo, Florida
Total Score: 204; Won by 15

1999 Leaderboard

Title Count By Athlete

Will Anyone Break “The Champ’s” Record Of 5 Wins?

5: Ken Climo
3: Barry Schultz, Will Schusterick & Paul McBeth
1: Dave Feldberg, Nate Doss, Nikko Locastro, Steve Brinster, Jeremy Koling, Nate Sexton, James Conrad, Chris Dickerson, Gannon Buhr, and Kyle Klein

Title Count By State

Will Your State Rise Up?

5: Florida
4: Tennessee & California
3: Wisconsin
2: Oregon
1: Michigan, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, & Virginia

USDGC Performance Flight Champions

2015 – Nick Hanson, Idaho / Won by 2 – Leader Board
2014 – Paige Pierce, Texas / Won by 9 – Leader Board
2013 – Taylor Maslowski, Massachusetts / Won by 6 – Leader Board
2012 – Jared Neal, Alabama / Won by 7 – Leader Board
2011 – John Key, Florida / Won by 15 – Leader Board

Golden Rake Award Winners

For Outstanding Volunteer Service

2023 – Alan Neal
2022 – David Barfield and Bobby Hermann
2021 – Chris “Stick” MacLeod
2020 – Mom and Bill “Old Man” Wallis, John Nichols
2019 – Diana and Doug Singleton
2018 – Marty Borucki
2017 – Tom Usselman
2016 – Nate Lane
2015 – Ken Rollins
2014 – Dale Sollars
2013 – Sam Nicholson and Stan McDaniel
2012 – Terry Roddy
2011 – Bear Roberts
2010 – Mike Norris
2009 – James Nichols
2008 – Lisa McDaniel and Bill Jacobson
2007 – Billy Crump
2006 – Pat and Rock Searle
2005 – Sammy Poole
2004 – Brian Mace
2003 – Brian Mace
2002 – Sam Covington

Dean’s Cup Invitational

Champion And Runner-Up

2022 – Clemson
2021 – Missouri S&T (Champion), Liberty University
2020 – COVID N/A
2019 – NC State (Champion), Ferris State
2018 – Mississippi State University (Champion), Liberty University
2017 – Ferris State University (Champion), Arkansas State University
2016 – Canceled due to Hurricane Matthew
2015 – Augusta University (Champion), Colorado State University
2014 – Colorado State University (Champion), Augusta University
2013 – Clemson University (Champion), Winthrop University