US Distance championship

David Wiggins Jr. & Ella Hansen

Distance ResultsUS Distance Results

2022 United States Distance Championship

The title of US Distance Champion is on the line at the 2022 United States Distance Championship!

2022 US Distance Championship Results

Men's Division

David Wiggins Jr. — 698'

Women's Division

Ella Hansen — 552'

2021 US Distance Championship Results

Men's Division

Albert Tamm — 646'
Eagle McMahon — 640'
Garrett Gurthie — 622'
Calvin Heimburg — 611'
Kevin Jones — 595'
Aaron Gossage — 592'
Simon Lizotte — 585'
Ben Calloway — 583'
Thomas Gilbert — 573'
Nikko Locastro — 562'
Corey Ellis — 557'
Noah Fiveash — 538'
Colten Montgomery — 516'
Kade Filimoehala — 472'

Women's Division

Natalie Ryan — 458'
Ella Hansen — 454'
Kat Mertsch — 432'
Kona Star Panis — 403'
Tiger Borth — 372'
Ali Smith — 348'

Rules of Competition

Round 1 – Qualifying

In the qualifying round, the top 6 throwers in the Open Division and the Top 3 throwers in the FPO Division will advance to the Finals.

  1. Tee times are attached for the participants that are competing in the United States Distance Championship 2022 
  2. We will have a PA system to announce who is throwing next (and who is on deck) 
  3. Throw nets will be available for warming up and there are several empty fields to warm up in.
  4. Your throws will also be clocked for speed by the Pocket Radar System and recorded.
  5. You must be present and ready to throw when your name is called.
  6. You must bring (5) Five discs to throw.
  7. You will have three (3) minutes to get off all 5 of your throws (36 seconds per throw)
  8. Once your clock starts, You will have 5 Throws. NO WARM-UP THROWS.
  9. You will not be allowed to go and retrieve your favorite disc to throw it again.
  10. After you throw all your discs, only your farthest throw will be measured.
  11. Once the clock expires, your turn is over.
  12. Your discs will be returned to you immediately after your turn.
  13. We will have a leaderboard on site showing the current top 6 Open and top 3 FPO throwers.
  14. In case of a tie, each thrower will have two tiebreaker throws.
  15. We ask that whoever is on the leaderboard stay in the vicinity of the competition. Once you are knocked off the leaderboard, you are free to leave.
  16. The finals will start 15 minutes after the qualifying round ends. At approximately 5:00 PM

Final Round: October 3rd, 5:00 PM

The top 3 throwers in the FPO division and top 6 throwers in the Open, will then start over and throw another round of (5) five throws to determine the Champion. Qualifying scores do not count towards your finals score. The order of throwers in the finals will be based on their qualifying distance. 

Each thrower will have 3 minutes to throw 5 discs.

Notes: This will be covered by the Disc Golf Network and a post-produced video will follow.

The finalist for the Open and FPO will all participate in the Distance Showcase on 10/9 on the stage after the end of the USDGC.

In case of severe weather, a rain date is scheduled for the same time Tues 10/4.

The winners will be awarded their Zuca Carts and Firman Power Equipment generators at the conclusion of The United States Distance Championship, with the cash disbursement coming at the discretion of the Tournament Director.

MPO Payout


$1400 Firman Power Equipment Generator
$350 Zuca Cart





FPO Payout


$1400 Firman Power Equipment Generator
$350 Zuca Cart



United States Distance Championship History

Albert Tamm - 2021
Garrett Gurthie - 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010
Simon Lizotte - 2013, 2014, 2018, 2019
Avery Jenkins - 2000, 2005, 2006
Alex Geisinger - 2015, 2017
Nikko Locastro - 2016
Natalie Ryan - 2021